Progress Week 1

I meant to post this yesterday but got busy with other things.  I’ll make another post about this week outside of the gym, but this one is dedicated to my fight against gravity this week.  I’ll put the exercises below, but it’s fairly lengthy so if you don’t want to look at them I’ll say what I have to say first.

It felt really good to get back into the gym.  I wasn’t lifting the weights that I really wanted to this week, but my form was probably better than ever.  I was able to get really low on my squats and all of my bench was nice and controlled.  The only thing I’m concerned about is my deadlift.  I feel like my back may be arching a little, but I can’t really see it, so I’ll have to get a spotter next week and make sure that I’m not on track to hurt myself.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get a good measure on my weight this week, but I suppose there’s plenty of time for that.

Also, I realized early on this week that I had majorly messed up my diet.  I was measuring dried food (rice/couscous) as the same as cooked food, when in reality it was about 3 to four times that amount.  In other words, I ate way too many carbs at the start of the week.  Luckily I caught it early and I can readjust my cooking accordingly.

Monday:  Chest/Triceps

  • Incline Barbell Bench Press
    • 20 reps @ 20 lb (Warmup)
    • 8 reps @ 50 lb
    • 8 reps @ 55 lb
    • 6 reps @ 55 lb
  • Flat Dumbbell Press
    • 8 reps @ 35 lb
    • 8 reps @ 35 lb
    • 8 reps @ 35 lb
  • Weighted Dip
    • 6 reps @ BW -40 lb
    • 8 reps @ BW -50 lb
    • 7 reps @ BW -50 lb
  • Close Grip Barbell Bench Press
    • 6 reps @ 60 lb
    • 8 reps @ 50 lb
    • 7 reps @ 50 lb
  • Dumbbell Lying Triceps Extension
    • 8 reps @ 35 lb
    • 8 reps @ 45 lb
    • 8 reps @ 45 lb

Tuesday:  Legs/Calves/Abs

  • Squat
    • 8 reps @ 0 lb (Warmup)
    • 8 reps @ 70 lb
    • 8 reps @ 70 lb
    • 6 reps @ 80 lb
  • Leg Press
    • 8 reps @ 140 lb
    • 8 reps @ 180 lb
    • 8 reps @ 180 lb
  • Hack Squat
    • 8 reps @ 50 lb
    • 8 reps @ 50 lb
    • 8 reps @ 50 lb
  • Romanian Deadlift
    • 8 reps @ 90 lb
    • 8 reps @ 90 lb
    • 6 reps @ 100 lb
  • Seated Calf Raise
    • 8 reps @ 35 lb
    • 8 reps @ 45 lb
    • 8 reps @ 45 lb
  • Cable Crunch
    • 8 reps @ 90 lb
    • 8 reps @ 90 lb
    • 8 reps @ 90 lb
  • Hanging Leg Raise
    • 20 reps
    • 20 reps

Thursday:  Shoulder/Traps

  • Overhead Dumbbell Press
    • 8 reps @ 20 lb (Warmup)
    • 8 reps @ 25 lb
    • 8 reps @ 25 lb
    • 8 reps @ 25 lb
  • Arnold Press
    • 8 reps @ 25 lb
    • 8 reps @ 25 lb
    • 8 reps @ 25 lb
  • Barbell Upright Row
    • 8 reps @ 40 lb
    • 8 reps @ 40 lb
    • 8 reps @ 50 lb
  • Bent Over Lateral Raise
    • 8 reps @ 10 lb
    • 8 reps @ 15 lb
    • 6 reps @ 15 lb
  • Dumbbell Shrug
    • 8 reps @ 30 lb
    • 8 reps @ 35 lb
    • 8 reps @ 35 lb

Friday:  Back/Biceps/Abs

  • Deadlift
    • 8 reps @ 90 lb
    • 8 reps @ 110 lb
    • 8 reps @ 110 lb
  • Barbell Bent-Over Row
    • 8 reps @ 50 lb
    • 8 reps @ 60 lb
    • 8 reps @ 70 lb
  • Lateral Pull-Down
    • 6 reps @ 120 lb
    • 6 reps @ 120 lb
    • 8 reps @ 100 lb
  • Barbell Biceps Curl
    • 8 reps @ 30 lb
    • 8 reps @ 30 lb
    • 8 reps @ 40 lb
  • Incline Dumbbell Biceps Curl
    • 8 reps @ 15 lb
    • 8 reps @ 15 lb
    • 8 reps @ 15 lb
  • Barbell Preacher Curl
    • 8 reps @ 20 lb
    • 6 reps @ 30 lb
    • 8 reps @ 25 lb
  • Crunch
    • 8 reps @ 35 lb
    • 8 reps @ 45 lb
    • 8 reps @ 45 lb
  • Reverse Crunch
    • 8 reps @ 35 lb
    • 8 reps @ 45 lb
    • 8 reps @ 45 lb
3 thoughts on “Progress Week 1”

  1. Looks like you have a very well set out approach. My advice to you would be to steadily increase the weights you are using over time. Challenge yourself but don’t go crazy too soon or you will do an injury. Get uncomfortable, then you will start to grow in strength and size. You should be TOTALLY SPENT when leaving the gym. And, if you are lifting right, you can’t eat too much food, really.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did notice I was still getting peckish in between meals. I think this week I might invest in some protein bars or some more fruit to keep the cravings down!

      Definitely gonna start picking up the weight. This week was a test to see where I was, but next week I’m gonna start going up. I want to make sure that I’m starting at 8 reps and by the end I should be pushing myself to get to 6, that way I know I’m right about at my limit.

      Like

      1. Hey, I don’t worry about protein bars or powder. I used to consume the powder a lot. It costs about $100 bucks a big bucket but I went off it. I cant say that is makes a huge different. Drink full cream milk and eat lots of wholesome foods. Eat a lot!

        Like

Leave a Reply

